University Staff Excellence Award

    Recognizing staff members who have achieved excellence while living the University of Saskatchewan’s values.

    The Award

    Two awards of $1,000 will be presented annually.

    Selection Criteria

    The University Staff Excellence Award (formerly the President's Service Award) is designed to recognize an exceptional contribution by a non-academic staff member who is currently working at the University of Saskatchewan. 

    The staff member must be a current employee as of April 30 of nomination year to be considered.

    Criteria for selection of the individual include evidence of the following:

    • enhancement of the work environment by providing extraordinary service to the university community;
    • inspiration, support and respect of the endeavours of others; and
    • distinction of accomplishment achieved through dedication and commitment to the University’s Mission, Vision and Values.


    March 22, 2019

    Selection Committee

    The selection committee includes representatives from:

    • Administrative and Supervisory Personnel Association (ASPA)
    • CUPE Local 1975
    • Exempt Staff
    • Faculty
    • People and Resources
    • University Relations
    • President’s Office


    All members of the University of Saskatchewan community are invited to nominate an employee for the Staff Service Service Award. Each nomination must include:

    • a completed nomination form
    • a one-page overview/executive summary by the nominator;
    • specific demonstration of how the nominee meets the criteria of this award;
    • indicated support by nominee’s supervisor; and
    • one or two signed letters of support.* These letters may be:
      • from an internal supporter, for example, students, co-workers;
      • from an external supporter as they relate to the work of the nominee at the university; or
      • signed by one or more individuals.

    Online Nomination


    Please contact if you have any questions.

    Tips for preparing a successful application

    The University Staff Excellence Award Committee considers applications of many deserving individuals. In order to assist nominators in preparing the best package possible on behalf of the nominee, we are pleased to provide the following tips for preparing a University Staff Excellence Award package.

    Choose supporters wisely

    Seek letter[s] of support from individuals who have direct knowledge of the nominee and can speak first-hand about his or her contribution. Please limit the length of support letters to 1-2 pages.

    Speak directly to each criteria

    Commentary included on the nomination form and letter[s] of support must speak directly to the selection criteria and include specific demonstration of behaviour that exemplifies the selection criteria. We strongly encourage specific linkage to at least two of the values and principles set out in the Mission, Vision and Values.

    Use simple language

    Try to avoid technical or discipline-specific terms. If it is not possible to avoid particular terms, explain or define the terms so that non-experts will understand them. It might be helpful to have a non-expert review material that includes technical and/or discipline-specific language for clarity and understanding.

    Clearly outline significance of contribution

    While the significance of the nominee’s contributions may be obvious to you, do not assume it will be obvious to all those who are reading the applications. Help us make the connection between behaviours and/or activities toward specific outcomes.

    Meet deadlines

    Deadlines are required so the individuals reviewing the applications have time to give each application the attention it deserves. We appreciate the time and energy that goes into a nomination and we want to give each nominee due consideration.


    Take a moment to appreciate the individual you are nominating—we are fortunate to have so many people who meet the criteria for this award and are deserving. And, we appreciate you for taking the time to prepare a nomination.

    Previous Recipients
    Year Ceremony Recipient
    2019 Lana Elias
    Darrell Solie
    2018 Fall Alexis Dahl
    Spring Dale Claude
    2017 Fall Margret Asmuss
    Spring Pam Komonoski
    2016 Fall Liz Scott
    Spring Candace Wasacase-Lafferty
    2015 Fall Heather Anne Burch
    Spring Rae Bourner
    2014 Fall Michele Derksen
    Spring Marlene Fehr
    2013 Fall Glen Hauser
    Spring Laura Kennedy
    2012 Fall Heather Luckey
    Spring Allan Stuchenko
    2011 Fall Bryan Bilkokreli
    Spring Cathie Fornssler
    2010 Fall Edna Jen Warrington
    Spring Gordon Herman
    2009 Fall Patrick Hayes
    Spring Parkash Virdi
    2008 Fall Catherine Dgunderson
    Spring Lynn Guina
    2007 Fall Barbara Gillis
    Spring Val Arnault-Pelletier
    2006 Fall Brad Steeves
    Spring Pauline Melis
    2005 Fall Norma McBain
    Spring David Bocking
    2004 Fall Peter Herd
    Spring Howie Salisbury
    2003 Fall Danielle Fortosky
    Spring Eileen Herteis
    2002 Fall Colleen Teague
    Spring Heather Kuttai
    2001 Fall Merry Beazely
    Spring Grace Milashenko
    2000 Fall Nathan Kolla
    Spring Merv Pryziasniuk
    1999 Fall Bob Cram
    Spring Elaine Angielski
    1998 Fall Wendy Bates
    Spring Evelyn Peters
    1997 Fall Jacqueline Fraser
    Spring Eileen McLean
    1996 Fall Kurt Tischler
    Spring Rhoda Miko
    1995 Fall Neil Richards